To all smokers who desperately want to quit

Tell me: why can’t you quit smoking?

And how many times have you tried to quit? I’ve lost count of the attempts i’ve made. Most recently, I tried the Stoptober challenge. November 1st rolled around and here I am still smoking. It’s not like there isn’t a lot of support out there to quit. It’s shoved in our faces on a daily basis that smoking can make your eyes fall out (that’s why those clamps are around that eyeball on the cigarette packet, right?) So why can’t you quit? Why can’t I quit? Well, there was this one time, I did quit smoking for almost two years. Then one evening, someone happened to pass me a cigarette and the addiction began all over again. A year has gone by since then and at least once a week since that day I have promised myself that I will quit after this packet/cigarette/day/stressful event. So many broken promises.

Physical effects of smoking on your health

On top of the emotional hang ups of not being able to kick the habit, there’s the physical side effects. It’s odd because I never really noticed many of the effects of smoking on my body until I started up again. I had smoked so long these symptoms had just become a part of living. I don’t know about you but my least favourite side effects of smoking cigarettes are:

  • Waking up covered in a film of sweat
  • Uncomfortable sensation in my mouth
  • Wrinkly dry lips
  • Dry skin
  • Phlegmy throat and lungs
  • Persistent smell of cigarette smoke on the body ( I noticed this symptom the most on other smokers after I had quit)
  • Yellow teeth and fingers
  • Discolouration around the mouth
  • Dull skin and redness on the face

The list of bad things about cigarettes could go on and on really.  And apparently it does. According to my sources on Google, 7000 chemicals are contained in these hot sticks of irresistible poison.

Clearly, smoking cigarettes does absolutely nothing positive for us. If a granny with a 61 year habit of smoking can quit why can’t we?

Leave a comment